Fort Frances Lakers COVID-19 Media Release & Public Announcement

As directed by Hockey Canada and the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), the Fort Frances Lakers announce the remainder of the 2020 hockey season has been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. This includes the 2020 Dudley Hewitt Cup that was scheduled for April 28-May 2, 2020.  Please check back to our website, the 2020 Dudley Hewitt Cup website and our social media for updates.  Due to the season’s abrupt end, the Lakers will be making the last two 400 Club draws at a later date.

The Fort Frances Lakers Board of Directors, management and players would like to thank all of our 2019-20 sponsors!  We couldn’t do this without the generosity of our district businesses, organizations and individuals; our gratitude remains unwavering. To our passionate fans, dedicated volunteers and billet families; thank you all so much for your continued support and friendship. A big Lakers thank you to our wonderful team of volunteers on the 2020 Dudley Hewitt Committee; your collaboration and hard work means the world to us.  The Lakers organization appreciates everyone who contributes to our team’s prosperity and sustainability.  We look forward to continuing Lakers success together!

The Fort Frances Lakers Board of Directors remains in contact with Hockey Canada, the CJHL and the SIJHL and is informed of the situation as it evolves. We will provide further updates as they become available.  We thank everyone for their understanding and wish you all good health.

MVP (sponsored by RBC) – Kyle Uzelman
PITA (sponsored by Rusty Myers Flying Service) – Tyler Malpass
Best Defenceman (sponsored by Revco/Ange and Dave Petsnik) – Mackenzie Flett
Most Sportsmanlike/Gentlemanly Player (sponsored by the McPherson Family) – Benjamin Hoefler
Most Improved Player (sponsored by Super 8) – Noah Loveday
Leadership Award (sponsored by Boston Pizza) – Noah Loveday
Most Dedicated Player (sponsored by Badiuk’s Powersports)  – Alex Bugeja
Bev Kotnik Award (sponsored by Fort Frances Lakers Board of Directors) – Alex Bugeja
Rookie of the Year (sponsored by Fort Frances General Supply) – Kiernan Bailey

Fort Frances Lakers Contacts:
President, Milt Strachan Ph: 275-5255, email:
Vice President, Wayne Allen Ph: 276-0616
Coach, Wayne Strachan Ph: 275-7798, email: